Quran says not to be too happy. Why?

Quran: Chapter 57 (The Iron): Verse 23 So that you may not grieve for what has escaped you, nor be exultant at what He has given you; and Allah does not love any arrogant boaster.

It always bothered me. Why doesn’t God want us to be overly-happy? If happiness is a good thing, being overly happy would mean more of a good thing, wouldn’t it? Honestly, that’s all each and everyone of us is striving for anyway.
I can understand the first part of the verse. That we shouldn’t be overly obssessed in grief over something (even someone) that we’ve lost. That just leads to more stress, worry, anxiety and most of all it’s a plain waste of time. But if you’re overly happy leads to more endorphins, more adrenalin and a more positive, optimistic outlook on life.

Maybe Quran says that because:
Excessive happiness is like having a double-espersso, with piles of whipped cream drenched in hot-chocolate. It lead to an immediate all time high. But when the caffiene runs out, boy does the crash feel lousy. But I don’t think that’s the reason why God has advised against being ecstatic. Next time you’re going through a high, just observe yourself. One would think we become overly happy because circumstances around us have changed which now give us a higher quality of life, for eg winning a million dollars that would make you overly happy. However that has not been the case for me. Last couple of times when I was on a high, I realised, it was not because of circumstances but because of a super major achievement that I did. It was because I was so damn smart and intelligent, that my planning and strategy solved this major problem and it would not have happened if it weren’t for ME. It was the drunkenness of me, that was feeding my euphoria.

But how much of that is due to me really?
Even if I came up with a direction with which we should approach an issue, I did that because of the people, tools, circumstances that were around me. Even if it was some super ingenious solution that I had come up with, it was because of the training I received. And all of which (people, training, circumstances) I truly had no control over. If these were different, you can be sure my decision would be something else. Truly truly what do I have to be pleased about. If anything I should just be eternally grateful that this goodness that happened it was through me. It could very well be anybody else. Therefore gratefulness even if it’s excessive is a much more truer and apt expression.

Quran Chapter 3 (Family of Imran):Verse 145 and whoever desires the reward of this world, I shall give him of it, and whoever desires the reward of the hereafter I shall give him of it, and I will reward the grateful.

Similar Posts:

http://www.vakil.org/2007/12/04/quran-says-not-to-be-too-happy-why/

Author: S.E.A.Mohamed Ali. "nidurali"

S.E.A.Mohamed Ali (Jinnah)B.A.,B.L., (nidurali) Nidur. Indeed all the praises are due to Allah, we praise him and we seek his assistance and forgiveness, and we seek refuge in Allah. https://aboutme.google.com/?referer=gplus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.