RSS

Feeling Disconnected?

27 Jan

Ukht Amirah

Assalamu alaikum my dearest brothers and sisters

It’s been a while since I wrote to everyone but I pray you are all well and in the best of iman and health! But for those who aren’t feeling like they are in the best of iman right now this article is for you especially.

Ramadhan, 10 days of Dhul Hijja, the day of Ashura, all these important dates of great virtue has passed us now and with the busyness of life taking over especially with exams coming up for many of us, it is normal for many of us to feel spiritually disconnected and experience a decrease in our iman.

Although if you are feeling spiritually disconnected, then Alhamdulillah! Because there are so many people walking on this earth that are truly disconnected and they are unable to “see” it. So Alhamdulillah to the fact that Allah gave us insight to our faults and that we tasted the sweetness of Iman and have had the beautiful feeling of contentment and pleasure when doing good for the sake of Allah swt, so we may not be as disconnected as we think we are! And all we really need to do now is just to work on getting that connection back and be bursting with Iman again Inshallah.

Also when feeling disconnected and low in Iman, please don’t listen to whispers of shaitan when he tries to make you feel hopeless and weak, putting us off making any effort to better ourselves again.

“Verily, those who are Al-Muttaqoon (the pious), when an evil thought comes to them from Shaytaan (Satan), they remember (Allaah), and (indeed) they then see (aright)”

[al-A’raaf 7:201]

We have to remember that we have Allah, and Allah loves us, and Allah wills good for us and He gave us life, so we have time to do good and increase our amaals Insha’Allah and Allah is very close to us…

Anas (May Allah be pleased with him) reported: The Prophet (PBUH) said, “Allah says: ‘ When a slave of Mine draws near to Me a span, I draw near to him a cubit; and if he draws near to Me a cubit, I draw near to him a fathom. And if he comes to Me walking, I go to him running.”’.
[Al-Bukhari].

Anyway the best thing to do when we feel like this is to just concentrate on increasing our good deeds, performing them with sincerity and to be patient and consistent with those inshallah. This is one of my favourites hadith which always gives me hope and brings me full faith that zikr and performing virtuous deeds is the solution to this disconnected and empty feeling.

“..my servant does not come closer to Me with anything more dear to Me than that which I made obligatory upon him. My servant keeps coming closer to Me with more volunteer deeds, until I love him. When I love him, I become His ear by which he hears, his eyes by which he sees, his hand by which he holds and his foot by which he walks. If he asks Me anything I shall give him. If he seeks My protection I shall grant him My protection… “(Al-Bukhari 6021)

At this moment I am also in a position where I am desiring my state of Iman to increase! And lately I’ve started to follow this program of Dhikr and Du’a prescribed by Dr Muhammad Abdul Hai Arifi. It’s a book called “A daily program of Dhikr and Du’a being a short course in self correction”. And while I am trying to in still these good deeds into my daily routine, I thought to share with all of you Insha’Allah in hope I might help you also.

I have typed up the introduction of the book and and posted it here:

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=56219786123&topic=15195

Insha’Allah I’ll post the program of Dua and Dhikr soon too. And Dhikr is powerful when it comes to softening the heart, and bringing us closer to Allah so I really do hope you enjoy and feel enthusiastic about this course insha’Allah.

Abu Ad-Darda’ reported that the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) is reported to have said: “Shall I not inform you of the best of your actions, the most pure in the sight of Your Master, the one which raises your ranks highest, that which is better for you than giving gold and silver (in charity), and better for you than your meeting your enemies, so that you strike their necks, and they strike yours?” The companions urged, “Of course, O Messenger of Allah! (Inform us!)” He replied, “It is the Remembrance of Allah.” (Reported by Abu Dawud)

But remember to try not to overwhelm yourself with acts of ibadah as this in itself is one of shaitaans guises- inciting you to preform long feats of worship and then give up on them at a later stage. The most beloved acts of devotion to Allah are those that are regular inshallah. So keep renewing your intention and persevere. Humanity wavers in its levels of convictions and we as mere human beings are in a process of development inshallah. We are all imperfect and we make mistakes, but the difference between the believers are the ones that repent!

[O you who believe! Turn to Allah with sincere repentance, in the hope that your Lord will remit your evil deeds and admit you to Gardens beneath which Rivers flow.] (At-Tahrim 66:8)

Moreover, repentance brings about humbleness and a sense of helplessness to the only Creator; Allah, and that is not easily acquired through other forms of worship.

Allah says in the Qur’an:
“Except those who repent, have faith and good deeds, those Allah will charge their sins for good deeds. Certainly Allah is most forgiving and merciful.” (Qur’an 25:70)
This is a greatest glad tiding for those who repent and combine their repentance with deep faith and good deeds. So stay hopeful brothers and sisters.

May Allah keep us all guided on the straight path, ameen

(شكراً), jazakallahu khayran
 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

